02-24-15 Session Update
LVPOA

Members,

Wednesday February 25, 2015

AB 139 is being heard in the Assembly Judiciary at 8am.  This bill changes the law on reciprocity on CCW permits.  Need for participation low.

AB 3 - (PERS bill) is scheduled for a work session tomorrow morning in Assembly Government Affairs. See the below listed link.  We cannot
provide testimony in a work session unless asked to provide follow-up information to the committee.  This is the second hearing on this bill.  This
critical bill is aimed at changing  PERS by putting private sector non-PERS members on the board is scheduled for a work session in Assembly
Government Affairs in Room 4100 of the State Legislature in Carson City.  The meeting will be teleconferenced to Room 4406 of the Grant
Sawyer Building located at 555 E. Washington Ave. in Las Vegas.

Agenda Link:
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/78th2015/Agendas/Assembly/GA/final/244.pdf?391821373

As you know we are opposed to AB3. A 2013 independent actuarial study found Nevada PERS was best in class for its financial policies.
Governors of both parties have appointed PERS Board members and the system’s success including investment returns as well, speaks to the
fact that the board isn’t broken…why fix it?

The bill was first heard in committee on February 16, 2015. A large number of public employees, retired and active were in attendance and
overflow rooms were set up in Carson City and Las Vegas to accommodate them. There is a presentation and another bill to be heard at the
meeting which are scheduled before the work session. However, the chair can take items out of order.

We encourage you to attend the hearing and work session. It is very important for legislators to see concerned retirees and PERS members at
this hearing.  It is not necessary for you to testify on the bill, but to be present to demonstrate your concern. There may also be amendments to
Assembly Bill 3 submitted during the work session.

Another way to have your voice heard on the bill is to “Share your Opinion” on the Legislative website by clicking on the link below. Select the bill
number you wish  (you don’t have to know the bill name) and you  can indicate if you are “for” or  “against” a bill and you can also add comments.
Your name, address and other personal information will not be published. At this time there are 424 “Against” and 5 “For” passage of the bill.

Please send your oppositions to this legislation to the below listed link or better yet please attend the meeting, sign in and oppose this legislation.

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Opinions/78th2015/A/

If you are unable to attend in person you can watch the meeting online by clicking on the link below on the day of the meeting and click on “View”
next to the meeting. You can also contact members of the Government Affairs Committee by email or phone to express your opposition to
Assembly Bill 3.

https://leg.state.nv.us/App/Calendar/A/

to CCW permits.  Need for participation HIGH.  We are not in support of this bill at the request of our friends in the senate.

Friday February 27, 2015

SB 158 and SB 168 are being heard in senate Gov Affairs at 1pm.  SB 158 is a collective bargaining bill that makes all exhibits be put on the
agency website 10 day before the body can vote on the proposed contract.  
SB 168 is a collective bargaining bill that has many legs to it.  All of
them bad for us. Need for participation is HIGH.

Tuesday March 3, 2015

AB 190 - The big PERS bill is scheduled to be heard in the Assembly Government Affairs at 0800 hours.  This bill sponsored by Randy Kirner
and others will destroy our PERS as we know it and create a hybrid system of "defined benefit" (what we currently have) and "defined
contribution" (what we don't want). The cost of this is over 800 million dollars.  Please oppose this as well.  Here are the names of the committee
members.  Please e-mail them and/or phone them and advise them to oppose this legislation as well. Need for participation is EXTREMELY
HIGH.  

Thank You,
Scott A. Edwards
VP, LVPOA
702-523-4932
sedwards@lvpoa.com


ASSEMBLY GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE:

John Ellison - Chair
Email: John.Ellison@asm.state.nv.us
775-684-8831

Richard Carrillo
Email: Richard.Carrillo@asm.state.nv.us
775-684-8801

Edgar Flores
Email: Edgar.Flores@asm.state.nv.us
775-684-8583

Amber Joiner
Email: Amber.Joiner@asm.state.nv.us
775-684-8559

Harvey J. Munford
Email: Harvey.Munford@asm.state.nv.us
775-684-8545

Dina Neal
Email: Dina.Neal@asm.state.nv.us
775-684-8587

Ellen B. Spiegel
Email: Ellen.Spiegel@asm.state.nv.us
775-684-8577

Victoria A. Dooling
Email: Vicki.Dooling@asm.state.nv.us
775-684-8821

Shelly M. Shelton
Email: Shelly.Shelton@asm.state.nv.us
775-684-8541

Lynn D. Stewart
Email: Lynn.Stewart@asm.state.nv.us
775-684-8823

Glenn E. Trowbridge
Email: Glenn.Trowbridge@asm.state.nv.us
775-684-8505

Stephen H. Silberkraus
Email: Stephen.Silberkraus@asm.state.nv.us
775-684-8855

Melissa Woodbury
Email: Melissa.Woodbury@asm.state.nv.us
775-684-8503